Wednesday, March 2, 2011

Gordon Nominee for PEN/Faulkner Award


Washington, DC— Judges have selected five books published in 2010 as finalists for the 2011 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, America's largest peer-juried prize for fiction.  The nominees are Jennifer Egan for A Visit From the Goon Squad (Knopf);  Deborah Eisenberg for The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg (Picador); Jaimy Gordon for Lord of Misrule (McPherson & Co.);  Eric Puchner for Model HomeBrad Watson for Aliens in the Prime of Their Lives  (W.W. Norton).  The announcement was made today by the directors of the PEN/Faulkner Foundation, Susan Richards Shreve and Robert Stone, Co-Chairmen. (Scribner).

The judgesLaura Furman, William Kittredge, and Helena Maria Viramontes—considered approximately 320 novels and short story collections by American authors published in the US during the 2010 calendar year. Submissions came from over 125 publishing houses, including small and academic presses. There is no fee for a publisher or writer to submit a book.

The winner, who will receive $15,000, will be announced on March 15; the four finalists will receive $5,000 each. In a ceremony that celebrates the winner as "first among equals," all five authors will be honored during the 31st Annual PEN/Faulkner Award ceremony at the Folger Shakespeare Library, located at 201 East Capitol Street, SE on Saturday, May 7, at 7pm.  Tickets are $100 for the reading ceremony and buffet dinner, and can be purchased by phoning the Folger Box Office at (202) 544-7077 or online at

No comments: