Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Sigma Tau Delta induction Sunday at 1 p.m.

Please join the Alpha Nu Pi chapter of Sigma Tau Delta as we welcome our Fall 2009 inductees on Sunday, October 25, at 1 p.m. The induction will take place in 3025 Brown Hall with refreshments to follow.

This is a significant induction because we are celebrating our first class of inductees whose lifetime memberships are free of charge to the students. The fee to join Sigma Tau Delta is $50, but thanks to initial funding from the College of Arts and Sciences and donations from faculty and staff that have already started to come into the Sigma Tau Delta Fund at the WMU Foundation, the Fall 2009 inductees are able to accept the honor they have earned by qualifying for membership in Sigma Tau Delta, now without the financial obligation that unfortunately discouraged some deserving applicants in years past. We hope this is the beginning of a new, permanent tradition of free membership.

This induction is also significant because the Fall 2009 class of inductees is among the largest in our chapter's history, second only to the March 2006 induction of our founding members, when 46 charter members became the first WMU Sigma Tau Deltas.

Thirty-nine students, undergraduate as well as graduate, will join us this semester, bringing our total membership to 190 active and alumni members. Not bad for a chapter whose charter is not quite four years old.

Please scroll down for a list of our 39 new Fall 2009 inductees. And for those who have given to the Sigma Tau Delta Membership Fund, please accept the sincere thanks of the Alpha Nu Pi chapter. For those who would still like to give, you may visit http://www.wmich.edu/foundation/gift to donate online (please designate your gift to the Department of English -- Sigma Tau Delta) or return your WMU Foundation contribution form with your donation or payroll deduction election. (Extra forms are available from Lisa Minnick.)

The Fall 2009 WMU Sigma Tau Delta Inductees:

Alicia Akins
Jill Archie
Danielle Bailey
Emily Beard

Jessica Bixel

Maike Buck

Danielle Cavinder

Takunia Collins

Ashley Crawford

Jason Elkins

Megan Emerson

Kimberly Evans

Paula Fader

Brandon Flowers

Kathleen Garbacz

Jax Gardner

Kendra Grieser

Elisa Gruss

Jennifer Henson

Sally Johnson

Amarrah Kean

Amanda Klein

Shauna Koszegi

Bethany Leyder

Carissa Marks
Shannon McConnell
Sara Olivares
Aanee Ruple
Dana Ruzicka

Louise Schreiber

Stephanie Sorenson

David Staggs

Audrey Sturrus

Staci Stutsman

Christina Triezenberg

Matthew Tootalian

Stephanie Vogie

Megan Werner

Lindsey Wiegand

No comments: